HOMEFORUMINFODIAGNOSISTREATMENTDISEASESBOOKSCHATBLOGLINKS

Begin overcoming hypochondria today with hypnosis

Meditation

What hypochondria / anxiety treatments have you tried? Did you find it to be helpful or not? Share your thoughts with the community!

Moderators: hypotoo, thehypochondriac

Meditation

Postby Josh » Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:44 pm

I know that a couple of people have mentioned that they have been trying out meditation and/or relaxation techniques to help cope with their hypochondria. Have people found this to be helpful? If so, I was wondering if you could share some specifics on your techniques to help the rest of us.

Thanks!

-Josh
Josh
New Hypochondriac

Tai Chi

Postby Shadowk3 » Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:56 am

I started learning the basics of Tai Chi to see if I could calm my nerves and my mind and it does seem to work quite well. But in doing so I came to a few things that for me atleast need to happen for it to work well.

1. I learned by video, if you do this be sure to read reviews before you buy, some videos are poorly made and not instructional enough,some move to fast, but some move way to slow boredom or frustration will kill the experience so it is important to find one that goes at the perfect speed for you.

2.Give yourself time to do it, I did it at night before bed and it worked well. Be sure to give yourself enough time where you can be alone in a quiet enviroment without distraction. To tell you the truth it is very very easy to get distracted from these videos since they are calm and quiet any noise or action will pull your attention away from it.

3. Lots of space, you don't need a lot of space to do it in but I felt it made it a lot better to have a large clear space to do it in, nice soft carpet works wonders to with your bare feet. You can buy mats for it that are nice but I just bought a small carpet to throw down on the floor to do it on and it was great.